Fallen officers honored in Youngstown

Police officer memorial service in Youngstown

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio (WYTV) —  Dozens of the Valley’s finest took time Friday to remember and honor local law enforcement officers who have made the ultimate sacrifice.

Members of the Fraternal Order of Police Lodges with the Youngstown Police and Mahoning County Sheriff’s Departments held their annual Fallen Officers Memorial Friday morning at Our Lady of Mount Carmel Church near downtown Youngstown.

Since the late 1800’s, 26 officers have lost their lives in the line of duty in Mahoning County. The most recent were Mahoning County Sheriff’s Deputy Robert Conway in February of 2012 and Youngstown police officer Michael Hartzell in April of 2003.

“It is our job to stand between good and evil. And when we pay that sacrifice, for doing that job, we need to remember those who have made that sacrifice not just today, but every day,” said Maj. Jay McDonald, president of the Ohio State FOP and an officer with the Marion Police Department. “We ask these people to risk their lives every single day when they put on a badge and a gun and go out and stand between good and evil.”

Although the ceremony has been held locally each year for nearly two decades, the idea dates all the way back to the administration of President John F. Kennedy, who designated a period each May as Police Memorial Week.

The following Mahoning County officers died in the line of duty:

  • William Freed, Youngstown Police Department, May 17, 1891
  • Alfred Evans, Youngstown Police Department, Nov. 5, 1911
  • Samuel Banks, Youngstown Police Department, Oct. 4, 1919
  • John Constantino, Campbell Police Department, May 11, 1920
  • Alexander Warren, Youngstown Police Department, May 3, 1921
  • Walter Flickinger, Lowellville Police Department, June 7, 1923
  • Joe Ruby, Campbell Police Department, Nov. 11, 1923
  • George Leonard, Youngstown Police Department, March 29, 1924
  • Ben Yeaden, Youngstown Police Department, Feb. 27, 1925
  • Henry Clemens, Youngstown Police Department, Dec. 4, 1927
  • John Harkins, Struthers Police Department, Jan. 1, 1952
  • Raymond Darwich, Struthers Police Department, Nov. 16, 1952
  • Frank Cichon, Youngstown Police Department, Dec. 21, 1963
  • Albert Masi, Campbell Police Department, Feb. 12, 1973
  • William “Bud” Comm, YSU Police Department, Aug. 12, 1975
  • John “Sonny” Litch, Mahoning County Sheriff’s Department, Oct. 22, 1981
  • Richard Becker, Poland Township Police Department, Nov. 6, 1983
  • Charles Yates, Poland Township Police Department, March 30, 1984
  • Ralph DeSalle, Youngstown Police Department, June 13, 1984
  • Paul Durkin, Youngstown Police Department, Sept. 21, 1987
  • Millard Williams, Youngstown Police Department, April 14, 1992
  • Steve Malkovits, Youngstown Police Department, May 21, 1993
  • Carmen “Skip” Renda, Youngstown/YSU Police Department, March 16, 1996
  • William Rickets, New Middletown Police Department, April 2, 1997
  • Michael Hartzell, Youngstown Police Department, April 29, 2003
  • Robert Conway, Mahoning County Sheriff’s Dpartment, Feb. 1, 2012

33 WYTV provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s