Western Final: Hickory-South Fayette

2014 PIAA Class AA Western Final
Saturday, December 6, 2014 at 1 pm at Slippery Rock University
Hickory (11-2) vs. South Fayette (14-0)

Last Meeting
Dec. 7, 2013 – South Fayette 23-20

South Fayette won last year’s state tournament by defeating Imhotep Charter, 41-0. The Lions have been victorious in their last 30 outings. Their opponents have been unabl to hold South Fayette below at least 31 points. There have been 4 teams (South Park, Seton-LaSalle, Quaker Valley, Aliquippa) which have scored 20-points or more but none of them have been able to score 23 points.

In their last game against Karns City on Friday, Brett Brumbaugh completed 11 of 24 for 199 yards during the Lions’ 42-15 win. Brumbaugh is now 104 passing yards shy of Port Allegany’s Matt Bodamer’s state-record of 10,948 yards.

Hickory’s 11-wins this season marks the fourth straight season of the Hornets’ having a double-digit win team. Prior to this stretch, Hickory has only had three other seasons where they won 10-or-more games (1988, 1989, 1991).

This past Saturday, the Hornets shut out perennial power Tyrone (28-0) in the State Quarterfinal. Sophomore Chuck Carr rushes for 171 yards on 34 carries and scored once. Andrew Pryts caught 2 scores from freshman Luke Brennan while catching four passes for 110 stripes.

District 10 Class AA History: Western Final Results (4-10)
2013: South Fayette 23 Hickory 20
2009: Greensburg Central Catholic 14 Wilmington 10
2008: Wilmington 29 Aliquippa 28 (OT)
2007: Jeannette 41 Wilmington 21
2006: Jeannette 28 Wilmington 7
2005: South Park 28 Reynolds 2
2004: Grove City 21 Tyrone 17
2003: Aliquippa 28 Slippery Rock 15
2000: Aliquippa 20 Sharon 7
1998: Shady Side Academy 21 Sharon 14
1997: South Park 33 Wilmington 7
1992: East Allegheny 34 Fairview 13
1989: Hickory 17 Steel Valley 7
1988: Wilmington 21 Bellwood-Antis 0

Points Scored: South Fayette, 45.1; Hickory, 32.4
Points Allowed: Hickory, 8.8; South Fayette, 13.4

Head Coaches
Hickory: Bill Brest, 5th season (54-11)
South Fayette: Joe Rossi, 8th season (83-16)

Winner to face the winner of the Eastern Final (Wyomissing 13-1 or Dunmore 13-1) in the Class AA State Final on December 13 at 12 pm in Hershey.

33 WYTV provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s