Remember When: Toledo perfects ’69 season

TOLEDO, Ohio (WYTV) – The Rockets were in the beginning stages of what would become a 35-game winning streak in 1969. Toledo secured an 11-0 season by defeating Davidson, 56-33, in the 1969 Tangerine Bowl (the game which is now known as the Capital One Bowl). Coach Frank Lauterbur’s bunch jumped out to a 42-0 lead at halftime behind the play of quarterback Chuck Ealey.

The 6’1 signal caller from Notre Dame High School in Portsmouth led the Titans to the OHSAA Football Championship and an unbeaten record. At Toledo, Ealey guided the Rockets to 35-straight wins in a three-year span.

In the Tangerine Bowl, Chuck paced the Rockets with 83 yards on the ground and connected on 10 of 13 passing for 147 yards as he was named the game’s MVP. Charles Cole also amassed 152 yards rushing on 22 carries for Toledo.

Following the 1970 season, Lauterbur – who was selected as a three-time Mid-American Conference Coach of the Year – took the same position at Iowa where he was only able to accumulated a 4-28-1 mark in three seasons (1971-73).

Still, Toledo holds one of the longest winning streaks in all of Division I college football.

Longest Win Streaks in FBS History
1.Oklahoma, 47 (1953-57)
2.Washington, 40 (1908-14)
3.Yale, 37 (1890-93)
3.Yale, 37 (1887-89)
5.Toledo, 35 (1969-71)

Comments are closed.