Tressel inducted into College Football Hall of Fame

Tressel begins career

NEW YORK, New York (WYTV) – Former Youngstown State Head Football Coach and current YSU President Jim Tressel is taking part in the National Football Foundation’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony Tuesday night at the Waldorf Astoria.

Tressel and all the inductees took part in a press conference Tuesday morning prior to the event.

Here is a transcript of Tressel comments from this morning’s press conference. After the podium session with all the inductees, they did various interviews with media who were in attendance.

CHRIS COTTER (NFF Moderator): Finally, a man who was coach at Youngstown State, as we learned earlier, and also Ohio State, Youngstown State between 1986 and 2000 at the FCS level and, of course, Ohio State between the years 2001 and 2010. Won four national titles at Youngstown State. Won one at Ohio State. And Jim Tressel is here. Jim, you are going into the Hall along with your father (Lee). So it’s a very rare combination, father/son. What does that mean to you?

TRESSEL: Being here as the only father and son who have ever been inducted, it’s mind-boggling. And there’s so many emotions that are rolling through all of our minds right now. I watched Bill Snyder do, I think, the finest coaching job in my coaching lifetime I’ve ever seen. And here I have a chance to be inducted with him. But, as Bill said, when you’re inducted as a coach, it’s a lot different than when you’re inducted as a player. You’re inducted as a coach because of what everyone else did and created those extraordinary teams and accomplishments and so forth. And you think about those players and coaches and families and those equipment managers and those academic advisors and those fans and everyone else and to be sitting here brought by others is quite humbling and to sit here where my dad is enshrined is very special.

Members of the 2015 College Football Hall of Fame Class include Trev Alberts (Nebraska), Brian Bosworth (Oklahoma), Bob Breunig (Arizona State), Sean Brewer (Millsaps, Mississippi), Ruben Brown (Pittsburgh), Wes Chandler (Florida), Thom Gatewood (Notre Dame), Dick Jauron (Yale), Clinton Jones (Michigan State), Lincoln Kennedy (Washington), the late Rob Lytle (Michigan), Michael Payton (Marshall), Art Still (Kentucky), Zach Thomas (Texas Tech), Ricky Williams (Texas) and coaches Bill Snyder (Kansas State) and Jim Tressel (Youngstown State, Ohio State).


Comments are closed.