Valley standouts prep for state swimming and diving

CANTON, Ohio (WYTV) – Fifteen high school athletes from the Valley have qualified for the Swimming and Diving State Tournament this week in Canton.

East Palestine junior Faith Anderson will be the only girls representative this year. Anderson will compete in the Division II State Diving competition on Wednesday. This will be the third consecutive season she has qualified for State.

For the boys, Austintown Fitch Junior Timmy Kubacki will swim in the 200 yard individual medley. Warren Harding Senior Michael Miller, and Boardman Sophomore Callen Aulizia will compete in the 50 Freestyle. Aulizia will also swim in the 100 Freestyle, while senior teammate Aaron Dunlany will compete in he 500 Freestyle.

Boardman Sophomore Callen Aulizia qualified in the 50 and 100 freestyle events. He is seeded 10th in the 100 free and 18th in the 50-free. Aulizia is one of the fastest three sophomore freestylers in the state heading into the meet.

Senior Aaron DunLany is seeded 23rd in the 500 freestyle Aaron holds two school records in the 200 and 500 free events.

In the 200 and 400 free relays Aulizia and DunLany will be joined by fellow Spartans Senior Ethan Schwendeman and sophomore Kyle Kimerer. The 200 relay is seeded 8th going into Friday’s prelims. The 400 relay is seeded 10th. These boys currently hold the school record in the 400 free relay.

Canfield high school has earned representation for three swimmers in two individual events and also three relays.

Senior Matthew Bogen will compete in the 100 Freestyle along with senior teammate Ben Brucoli. Bogen will also compete in the 100 Breaststroke, and three relay events.

Canfield’s relay team consisting of Cullen Brady, Matthew Bogen, Alec Gaetano, Ben Brucoli will compete in the 200 Medley and the 200 Freestyle.  Jared Rothbauer, Bobby Kutsch, Lake Bennett, Kamran Sarac will compete in the 400 Freestyle Relay.

The Division I Boys Finals are Friday starting at 5PM at the C.T. Branin Natatorium in Canton. The Division I Finals will take place Saturday starting at 4PM.

Comments are closed.