Wilmington’s ground game scores 8 TDs; crowned D10 champs

In the State Quarterfinal, Wilmington will face Kane.

Kyle Slicker breaks a tackle on his way to a touchdown during a snowy District Ten final between Wilmington and Sharpsville.

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pennsylvania (WYTV) – Wilmington is crowned District 10 champions for the first time since 2009 after topping Sharpsville, 56-7.

Wilmington defeated Sharpsville on September 16, 63-21. Since losing to Hickory (28-20) in week eight, the Greyhounds have won four in a row by a combined score of 191-22.

The ‘Hounds scored eight touchdowns via their ground game. Spencer DeMedal, Kyle Slicker, and Cameron Marett each carried the ball 9 times apiece. DeMedal gained 139 yards and scored twice. Slicker accumulated 82 rushing yards and scored once while Marett crossed the goal line 3 times and picked up 79 yards. Wilmington, as a team, compiled 331 yards rushing. Reese Bender completed 4 of 5 passes for 112 yards.

Wilmington’s coach Terry Verrelli garnered win #299 following their District 10 championship victory tonight.

Sharpsville’s season comes to an end at 8-4 after beginning the year with a 5-3 mark. The Blue Devils were playing in their sixth consecutive District 10 championship matchup (3-3). Bobby Besser caught a touchdown pass and gained 127 yards from scrimmage (53 rushing, 74 receiving).

Stats courtesy of Ryan Briggs

Scoring Chart
First Quarter
W – Reese Bender, 1-yard TD run (9:24, W 7-0)
W – Cameron Marett, 1-yard TD run (3:30, W 14-0)
Second Quarter
W – Cameron Marett, 13-yard TD run (10:43, W 21-0)
W – Kyle Slicker, 9-yard TD run (3:51, W 28-0)
S – Bobby Besser, 50-yard TD catch from Luke Henwood (1:56, W 28-7)
W – Spencer DeMedal, 61-yard TD run (0:48, W 35-7)
Third Quarter
W – Cameron Marett, 14-yard TD run (9:24, W 42-7)
W – Spencer DeMedal, 1-yard TD run (3:50, W 49-7)
Fourth Quarter
W – Bryson Verrelli, 5-yard TD run (11:49, W 56-7)
Final Score: Wilmington, 56-7

Wilmington (11-1) will now face Kane next week in the Class AA State Quarterfinal.