Grove City’s Patterson & Turner named All-State

All-State honors were officially released on Monday

Kam Patterson, Grove City

HARRISBURG, Pa. (AP) – For the fourth time in six seasons, Philadelphia’s Archbishop Wood capped its high school football season with a PIAA championship.

This time, the Vikings added the state’s first Class AAAAA title with a 37-10 victory over Harrisburg on Dec. 9. Both programs are well represented on the Pennsylvania Football Writers All-State team.

Versatile senior athlete Raheem Blackshear, senior wide receiver and Georgia recruit Mark Webb, and senior running back Shawn Thompson are among five players from Archbishop Wood to be selected. Senior defensive end Damion Barber and junior end Micah Parsons lead four Harrisburg players on the team.

Record-setting senior running back Zane Dudek of Armstrong was tabbed player of the year after setting the WPIAL single-season rushing mark with 2,936 yards and 37 touchdowns for the River Hawks (9-2). Harrisburg’s Calvin Everett earned coach of the year honors.

Since 2009, sports writers who cover high school football around the Commonwealth have overseen the all-state process. Players are nominated in all six classifications, and then a statewide ballot is issued to afford all writers the opportunity to cast their votes.

It was a strong showing for District 3 football. Barber and Parsons, both Penn State recruits, are joined by 13 players from District 3 programs. The list includes three quarterbacks in Manheim Central senior Kody Kegarise, Cedar Cliff senior Grant Breneman, and Harrisburg junior Yahmir Wilkerson.

Cedar Cliff senior lineman Shaun Hastings, Exeter Twp. senior tight end Gabe Schappell, and Elizabethtown junior defensive back Cade Robinson also were selected. They join a trio of linebackers in Waynesboro’s Forrest Rhyne, a 2015 all-state pick, Cedar Cliff junior Francis Duggan, and Manheim Central senior Nick Brown.





Kameron Patterson, Grove City — 6-3, 190 senior

Kody Kegarise, Manheim Central — 6-0, 185 senior

Grant Breneman, Cedar Cliff — 6-1, 190 senior

Yahmir Wilkerson, Harrisburg — 6-1, 200 junior

Nick Ross, West Allegheny — 6-1, 190 senior

Running Back

Zane Dudek, Armstrong — 5-10, 190 senior

Journey Brown, Meadville — 5-11, 195 senior

Shawn Thompson, Archbishop Wood — 6-0, 195 senior

Matt Garcia, Phoenixville — 5-6, 165 senior

Wide Receiver

Dez Boykin, Whitehall — 5-11, 175 junior

Jake Novak, Manheim Central — 5-11, 170 junior

Mark Webb, Archbishop Wood — 6-3, 205 senior

Tight End

A.J. Turner, Grove City — 6-2, 200 senior

Gabe Schappell, Exeter Twp. — 6-2, 220 senior

Offensive Linemen

Kieran Firment, West Allegheny — 6-4, 280 senior

Chris Bleich, Wyoming Valley West — 6-6, 300 junior

Curtis Harper, McKeesport — 6-3, 293 senior

Adam Kline, Manheim Central — 6-1, 230 senior

Shaun Hastings, Cedar Cliff — 6-2, 265 senior


Raheem Blackshear, Archbishop Wood — 5-11, 180 senior

Isaiah Manning, Meadville — 6-0, 190 junior


D.J. Opsatnik, West Allegheny — 5-8, 150 senior


Defensive Linemen

Matt Holmes, West Allegheny — 6-1, 225 senior

Micah Parsons, Harrisburg — 6-3, 230 junior

Damion Barber, Harrisburg — 6-3, 240 senior

Gunnar Royer, Manheim Central — 6-1, 210

Anthony Diodato, Archbishop Wood — 6-5, 255 senior


Matt Palmer, Archbishop Wood — 6-1, 205 junior

Nick Brown, Manheim Central — 5-10, 195 senior

Forrest Rhyne, Waynesboro — 6-2, 225 senior

Francis Duggan, Cedar Cliff — 6-3, 220 junior

Defensive Back

Keyshaan Husband, Central Tech — 6-0, 185 senior

Cade Robinson, Elizabethtown — 6-1, 175 junior

Ethan Laird, General McLane — 6-2, 200 senior

Jackson Buskirk, Whitehall — 6-1, 180 senior


Joel Davis, Harrisburg — 5-9, 180 senior

Teddy Wright, Academy Park — 6-0, 200 senior

Player of the Year — Zane Dudek, Armstrong

Coach of the Year — Calvin Everett, Harrisburg

(Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)